Contact Us

Utah Seismic Safety Commission (USSC)

Chair: M. Leon Berrett
Vice Chair: Steve Bowman
Vice Chair: Keith Koper

Commission Members (defined in Utah Code 63C-6-101)
American Institute of Architects (AIA): Steven Bruemmer, Elliott Workgroup
American Public Works Association (APWA): M. Leon Berrett, Salt Lake County Public Works Department
American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE): Peter McDonough
Association of Contingency Planners (ACP): Craig Kerkman, WCF Insurance
Governor's Office of Management and Budget (GOMB): Evan Curtis
University of Utah Seismograph Stations (UUSS): Keith Koper
Utah Department of Transportation (UDOT): Joshua Sletten
Utah Division of Facilities Construction and Management (DFCM): Patrick Tomasino
Utah Division of Emergency Management (UDEM): Kris Hamlet
Utah Geological Survey (UGS): Steve Bowman (director's designee)
Utah House of Representatives: vacant
Utah Insurance Department: Meldee Love (director's designee)
Utah League of Cities and Towns (ULCT): Roger Evans
Utah State Senate: Jerry Stevenson
Structural Engineers Association of Utah (SEAU): Jessica Chappell, Reaveley Engineers

Ex-Officio Commission Members
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA): vacant
U.S. Geological Survey (USGS): Chris DuRoss, Earthquake Hazards Program

Commission Staff
Utah Division of Emergency Management (UDEM): Robert Carey and John Crofts
Utah Geological Survey (UGS): Emily Kleber and Adam Hiscock

UDEM: State Office Building, Room 1110, Salt Lake City, Utah 84114, 801-538-3400,
UGS: 1594 West North Temple, P.O. Box 146100, Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6100, 801-537-3300,

Technical Committees
Existing Buildings
Geoscience (part of the UGS Utah Earthquake Working Groups)

The USSC meets quarterly at several locations in the Salt Lake Valley, with most meetings being held at the Utah State Capitol, Utah Senate Building, Kletting Room. Meeting announcements are posted in the red news box shown on most USSC pages at the right. The USSC invites citizen participation in its meetings and activities. If you wish to attend a meeting, recommend an topic for consideration, or participate on a committee, please contact us at