

# State of Utah utah seismic safety commission

Michael O. Leavitt Governor

> T. Leslie Youd Chairperson

Staff: Utah Geological Survey 2363 South Foothill Drive Salt Lake City, Utah 84109-1491 Phone (801) 467-7970 FAX Line: (801) 467-4070

Utah Division of Comprehensive Emergency Management State Office Building, Room 1110 Salt Lake City, Utah 84114 Phone (801) 538-3400 FAX Line: (801) 538-3770

## UTAH SEISMIC SAFETY COMMISSION Special Meeting

### AGENDA

#### 9:00 a.m., Wednesday, June 28, 1995 Room 5112, State Office Building

Purpose: Plan strategy for meeting with Governor Leavitt, July 10, 1995, 9:00 a.m., Governor's Office, State Capitol

- 1) Review proposed outline.
- 2) Discuss priority strategies to be presented and finalize cost estimates and general plan for implementation.
- 3) Discuss need for handouts or presentation materials.
- 4) Determine who should participate in the meeting, and define their roles.



June 28.95

#### UTAH SEISMIC SAFETY COMMISSION 5/2/95

- eslie Youd, American Society of Civil Engineers, Utah Chapter; Department of Civil Engineering, Jugham Young University, 370 Clyde Building, Provo, UT 84602, (801) 378-6327, FAX (801) 378-4449
- Senator Craig A. Peterson, 1687 North 200 West, Orem, UT 84057, (801) 756-8888, FAX (801) 756-8881
- Representative Peter C. Knudson, 1209 Michelle Drive, Brigham City, UT 84302, (801) 723-6366, 479-8980, FAX (801) 723-6371
- M. Lee Allison, Director, Utah Geological Survey, Department of Natural Resources,
  2363 South Foothill Boulevard, Salt Lake City, UT 84109-1491, (801) 467-7970, FAX (801) 467-4070
- Walter J. Arabasz, Director, University of Utah Seismograph Stations, 705 W.C.Browning Building, Salt Lake City, UT 84112, (801) 581-6274, FAX (801) 585-5585
- James S. Bailey, Structural Engineers Association of Utah; Allen & Bailey Engineers, 16 Exchange Place, Salt Lake City, UT 84111, (801) 328-0278, FAX (801) 328-0270

- Kenneth H. Bullock, Executive Director, Utah League of Cities and Towns, 50 South 600 East, Salt Lake , UT 84102, (801) 328-1601, FAX (801) 531-1872
- Lorayne M. Frank, Director, Utah Division of Comprehensive Emergency Management, Department of Public Safety, 110 State Office Building, Salt Lake City, UT 84114, (801) 538-3400, FAX (801) 538-3770

James W. Golden, Assistant Chief Structural Engineer, Department of Transportation, 4502 South 2700 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84119, (801) 965-4191, FAX (801) 965-4187

- William E. Juszcak, Project Coordinator, Division of Facilities Construction and Management, Department of Administrative Services, 4110 State Office Building, Salt Lake City, UT 84114, (801) 538-3292, FAX (801) 538-3378
- Barry Smith, American Institute of Architects, Utah Chapter; Astle-Ericson & Associates, 136 South Main Street, Suite A-200, Salt Lake City, UT 84101, (801) 533-8867, FAX (801) 521-7913
- Suzanne Winters, State Science Advisor, Governor's Office of Planning and Budget, 116 State Capitol, Salt Lake City, UT 84114, (801) 538-1038, FAX (801) 538-1547
- -Randall G. Updike, Chief, Branch of Earthquake and Landslide Hazards, U.S. Geological Survey, M.S. 966, 1711 Illinois Street, Golden, CO 80401, (303) 273-8579, FAX (303) 273-8600 (Ex-Officio Member)
- Dave Prothero, Civil Engineer, Federal Emergency Management Agency, Federal Building, Room B6, 88 100 North, Provo, UT 84601, (801) 375-9508, FAX (801) 375-9508 (Ex-Officio Member)

Douglas D. Bodrero, Commissioner, Department of Public Safety, 4501 South 2700 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84119, (801) 965-4611, FAX (801) 965-4756