

State of Utah

Utah Seismic Safety Commission

BARRY H. WELLIVER Chair August 28, 2006

Tina Faecke Administrative Officer National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program National Institute of Standards and Technology 100 Bureau Drive, Mail Stop 8630 Gaithersburg, MD 20899-8630

Dear Ms. Faecke:

On behalf of the Utah Seismic Safety Commission, I am delighted to support the nomination of one of our former Commissioners, Ann Von Weller, as a member of the Advisory Committee on Earthquake Hazards Reduction (ACEHR).

Ann distinguished herself as an active member and Vice Chair of our Commission and brought to bear her considerable knowledge and experience as the Chief Building Official of Murray City, Utah. Her subsequent experience as President of the International Code Council reinforces her qualifications to contribute greatly to any national committee concerned with effective risk reduction and building safety.

The Utah Seismic Safety Commission strongly urges favorable consideration of her nomination. We believe she will be an active contributor to the ACEHR.

Sincerely,

Peter McDonough, Chair

cc: Cathleen Carlisle

